I Love the Idea…

April 1, 2009 at 10:50 am | Posted in compassion and connection, inspiration, learning and growing, questions and conundrums | 5 Comments

….but I’m not sure it would fly.

What do you think of this?

I mean, I can TOTALLY get behind the premise, and I completely trust the science, too; it just feels like laughing would be a huge component to a healthy life, so the scientific findings bearing that out make sense to me.

What I’m wondering, though, is would you come back to a class where the instructor started off by telling you to take a deep breath and just start laughing?  Would you think the instructer were off of his or her nut?  Would you feel like an idiot doing it?

Before the video was even over, I was chuckling, so I think that the infectious nature of laughter would help to take care of any initial awkwardness.  I love that laughing would do all the physiological things that it does AND that people would kind of be forced to not take their practices so seriously (it’s supposed to be FUN, People!).  I wonder, though, if I’d turn someone fatally off by trying this at the end of one of my classes.

Thoughts?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. [...] For starters, I’ve written a musing over at yogabalance.  I’d love your opinion on the thing, even if you’ve never been to [...]

  2. I think it is a good idea, and I am not someone who laughs a lot, even when I find something funny.

    I’m going to try it. :0

  3. You feel silly at first but then you get the giggles and it feels good. During a particularly tough period on drama school our singing teacher had us all laid out on the floor and asked us to start laughing. She never got us back. Once we’d almost get to the end of it our fabulous Nigerian member would chuckle and we’d be off again. It was lovely and petrifying and just what we needed.

  4. From what I have read of your life, I would be shocked if you do not already have a core of people in your group who get you. If it feels more comfortable, talk to them first and get them on board, and then introduce it as something to try – knowing you will have “laughers” with you, just do it! I live alone and I know I do not laugh enough. Would I try this? Yes. The neighbors already refer to me as a character – chip off of the grandparental block, so to speak, so no one would be shocked to drive in and find me on the deck convulsed in laughter. Thank you for this.

  5. It would probably work best the way Kizz mentioned – with everyone lying on their backs. I think people would be a lot more self-conscious if they were sitting around looking at each other. Give it a whirl and let us know how it turned out. We all need more laughter in our lives.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

