The Journey Begins with One Step

July 25, 2010 at 8:25 am | Posted in holding myself accountable, learning and growing, meditations | 1 Comment

I am not as healthy as I could be. Seeing that I come from a long line of remarkably unhealthy people, I have an interest in doing whatever I can to buck my genetic legacy and stay upright and breathing in and out as long as possible.

I’ve been flirting with the idea of getting serious about my health for a while now, but I think I’m finally ready to commit. In an effort to stay on the path and to hold myself accountable, I’m going to post my progress here. I don’t know if I’ll get to post every day, but I will aim toward regular check-ins, just so that I have a map of what I’m doing and how (or if) it’s working.

I have decided to begin with a private yoga practice (which is part of why I’m posting this part of my life here instead of at home). I’ve been teaching yoga for about 8 years now, but I’m not sure that I’ve been practicing for that long. I’ve always known that teaching is very different from doing (sarcastic adage aside); the feel of presenting material for others is often an entirely different activity than experiencing it for oneself.  Since I’ve also been going through a bit of a blue period lately, I thought that taking the time to practice just for me – to honor myself and my body and my place in the Universe – might just be the thing I need to change my energetic hue.

I started this morning with a 45-minute, silent practice.  I was pretty easy on myself, though I did work a series that included Warrior II and another that was a back-and-forth between down dog and plank; I was pleasantly warm by the time the whole thing was over.  I’ve settled on 4 as my tempo; I like to move with my breath, but I’ll hold poses for 4 complete breaths before I’ll move to the next expression.  I didn’t give myself much of a savasana today; I’ve got to get the family moving so we can go to my sister’s house for a pre-wedding gathering, and I don’t have the time for laying out.  I did sit for a bit, though, and gave myself permission to release negativity.  I’m going to continue that through the day (I find, too, that I can do a great bit of meditation in the car on the highway.  Don’t worry – I don’t zone out or anything; it’s a mindful kind of meditation).

I’m working on being aware of what I eat, as well, and I’ll likely start keeping a food log here, too.  So far, though, I’ve nothing much to report; just my usual morning dose of Ovaltine in a glass of 1% milk.

Thanks for coming along this ride with me.  I welcome your questions, comments, or suggestions.

Nameste.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. [...] Fudgecicles. Really; do I need to editorialize on this one? I’ve made a commitment to get healthier by reining in my weight, and these yummy little bits of chocolate-y goodness feel like cheating, but really [...]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

